cingulate gyrus
Acronym: CgG
The term cingulate gyrus refers to one of four components of the limbic lobe of the cerebral cortex. The others are the parahippocampal gyrus, the archicortex, and the subcallosal gyrus. Identified by dissection, it is a prominent convolution on the mesial aspect of the cerebral hemisphere. It is separated from the corpus callosum ventrally by the callosal sulcus. In the depth of the sulcus the supracallosal gyrus partially intervenes between it and the corpus callosum.
     Dorsally it is separated from the frontal lobe and part of the parietal lobe by the cingulate sulcus. The splenial sulcus separates it from the ramainder of the parietal lobe caudally. It is composed of three parts: the anterior cingulate gyrus, the posterior cingulate gyrus, and the isthmus of the cingulate gyrus.
     Except for greater complexity of sulcal patterns in the human ( Vogt-1995 ), the structure is similar in the macaque ( Vogt-1987 ). Equivalent structures are not found in the smooth cerebral cortex of the rat or mouse ( NeuroNames ).

Also known as: cingular gyrus, cingulate area, cingulate region, Gyri cinguli, Gyrus cinguliNeuroNames ID : 159

Species Having or Lacking this Structure

All Names & Sources

Internal Structure

Cells Found There

Genes Expressed There

Locus in Brain Hierarchy


Models Where It Appears

Publications About It

BrainInfo                           Copyright 1991-present                          University of Washington