periventricular zone of the hypothalamus
The term periventricular zone of the hypothalamus refers to one of three zones of the hypothalamus when it is subdivided by planes parallel to the midline. The others are the medial zone of the hypothalamus and the lateral zone of the hypothalamus. The periventricular zone is the closest to the midline and includes the median preoptic nucleus, the preoptic periventricular nucleus, the anteroventral periventricular nucleus, the organum vasculosum, the suprachiasmatic nucleus, the intermediate periventricular nucleus, the arcuate nucleus of the hypothalamus, the neurohypophysis, the posterior periventricular nucleus and the posterior hypothalamic area. Some authors include the subfornical organ in this zone ( Crosby-1962, Saper-1990 ). See also the functionally defined hypothalamic periventricular region.

Also known as: periventricular gray, Griseum periventriculare hypothalamiNeuroNames ID : 2292

Species Having or Lacking this Structure

All Names & Sources

Internal Structure

Cells Found There

Genes Expressed There

Locus in Brain Hierarchy


Models Where It Appears

Publications About It

BrainInfo                           Copyright 1991-present                          University of Washington