humerosensory system
The term humerosensory system refers to one of seven subcortical sensory systems of the cerebrospinal trunk. It consists of three of the circumventricular organs classified on the basis of function; they detect blood-borne substances and send neural signals to other brain structures. They include the organum vasculosum, the subfornical organ and the area postrema ( Duvernoy-2007 ). The other circumventricular organs are classified as secretory circumventricular organs.

Also known as: sensitive organs, sensory circumventricular organs, sensory CVOsNeuroNames ID : 2856

Species Having or Lacking this Structure

All Names & Sources

Internal Structure

Cells Found There

Genes Expressed There

Locus in Brain Hierarchy


Models Where It Appears

Publications About It

BrainInfo                           Copyright 1991-present                          University of Washington