nuclei of stria terminalis
The term nuclei of stria terminalis refers to a reconceptualization of the classical nucleus of stria terminalis that is based on multiple stains and connectivity. The nuclei include subdivisions of the nucleus of stria terminalis together with groups of similar cells distributed through the anterior hypothalamic region and dorsal part of substantia innominata to the central amygdalar nucleus. Whereas the classical nucleus of stria terminalis is categorized with the septal nuclei ( Andy-1968 ), the current, broader structural concept is assigned to different nuclear groups by different authors. For example, it is classified as part of the extended amygdala ( Heimer-1995 ) and, in the Functional CNS Model - Rat, it is classified as part of the extended pallidum ( Swanson-2004 ). Also, the structure is subdivided differently with partially overlapping terminologies in the human ( six parts in Mai-2004 ), the macaque ( ten parts in Paxinos-2009a ), the rat ( sixteen parts in Swanson-2004 ) and the mouse ( eight parts in Hof-2000 ). In the Functional CNS Model, which is based on the rat, the parts are divided into two groups, the anterior nuclei of stria terminalis and the posterior nuclei of stria terminalis.

Also known as: nucleus of stria terminalisNeuroNames ID : 3125

Species Having or Lacking this Structure

All Names & Sources

Internal Structure

Cells Found There

Genes Expressed There

Locus in Brain Hierarchy


Models Where It Appears

Publications About It

BrainInfo                           Copyright 1991-present                          University of Washington