posterior cingulate cortex
Acronym: PCC
The term posterior cingulate cortex refers to a set of 14 cortical areas located in the posterior cingulate gyrus, isthmus of the cingulate gyrus and precuneus of the human. It differs from posterior cingulate cortex in that, rostrally it includes part of area p24, and caudally it includes parts of precuneus extending to the intraparietal sulcus: area 7m and four areas transitional to early visual cortex: areas POS1, POS2, ProS and DVT. Identified by multiple criteria, the areas are grouped primarily on the basis of anatomical proximity. They include area DVT, area ProS, area POS1, area POS2, area RSC, area v23ab, area d23ab, area 31pv, area 31pd, area 31a, area 23d, area 23c, area PCV, and area 7m ( Glasser-2016 ).

Also known as: No other name for this structure has appeared in PubMed.NeuroNames ID : 4657

Species Having or Lacking this Structure

All Names & Sources

Internal Structure

Cells Found There

Genes Expressed There

Locus in Brain Hierarchy


Models Where It Appears

Publications About It

BrainInfo                           Copyright 1991-present                          University of Washington