solitary nucleus
Acronym: Sol
The term solitary nucleus refers to a group of cells in the medulla that is involved in the sensory component of autonomic systems that control visceral organs, such as the heart and lungs. It contains numerous subnuclei, which vary by species and method of identification. Classically the nucleus is divided into five subnuclei defined on the basis of topology as observed with Nissl staining ( Carpenter-1983; click Locus in Brain Hierarchy below.) A more recent segmentation based on multiple criteria identifies ten subnuclei ( Paxinos-2012 ). The latter approach identifies eleven subdivisions in the macaque ( Paxinos-2009a ), twelve subdivisions in the rat ( Paxinos-2009b ), and eleven in the mouse ( Franklin-2008 ).
     An alternate definition ( solitary nucleus (Swanson) ) is based on function in the rat ( Swanson-2004 ) and the mouse ( Dong-2004 ); it excludes the division involved in taste perception and consists of five subdivisions.

Also known as: nucleus of solitary tract, nucleus of the solitary tract, nucleus of tractus solitarius, solitary nuclear complex, Nuclei tractus solitarii, Nucleus fasciculus solitarius, Nucleus solitarius, Nucleus tractus solitariiNeuroNames ID : 742

Species Having or Lacking this Structure

All Names & Sources

Internal Structure

Cells Found There

Genes Expressed There

Locus in Brain Hierarchy


Models Where It Appears

Publications About It

BrainInfo                           Copyright 1991-present                          University of Washington