posterior nuclei of stria terminalis
The term posterior nuclei of stria terminalis refers to one of two divisions of the nuclei of stria terminalis based on topology, connectivity and multiple stains in the rat ( Swanson-2004 ) and the mouse ( Dong-2004 ). The other division consists of the anterior nuclei of stria terminalis. The posterior division includes the principal nucleus of stria terminalis, interfascicular nucleus of stria terminalis, transverse nucleus of stria terminalis, premedullary nucleus of stria terminalis, dorsal nucleus of stria terminalis, the strial extension of stria terminalis, and the cell sparse zone of stria terminalis.

Also known as: No other name for this structure has appeared in PubMed.NeuroNames ID : 2754

Species Having or Lacking this Structure

All Names & Sources

Internal Structure

Cells Found There

Genes Expressed There

Locus in Brain Hierarchy


Models Where It Appears

Publications About It

BrainInfo                           Copyright 1991-present                          University of Washington