The term allocortex refers to one of two types of cerebral cortex defined on the basis of cytoarchitecture and fetal development. The other is neocortex. Allocortex does not pass through a prenatal phase of six-layered structure and has three or four layers in the mature brain ( Schiebler-1999 ). Allocortex has three subtypes: paleocortex, archicortex and periallocortex. This definition differs from that in some older sources, which excluded the main olfactory bulb and the accessory main olfactory bulb ( Carpenter-1983 ).

Also known as: nonisocortical areas, non-isocortical areasNeuroNames ID : 1598

Species Having or Lacking this Structure

All Names & Sources

Internal Structure

Cells Found There

Genes Expressed There

Locus in Brain Hierarchy


Models Where It Appears

Publications About It

BrainInfo                           Copyright 1991-present                          University of Washington