The term periarchicortex refers to a cytoarchitecturally defined transition zone between archicortex and neocortex. It is one of two components of periallocortex; the other is peripaleocortex. Periarchicortex includes the presubiculum, the parasubiculum, the entorhinal area, the perirhinal area, the retrosplenial area, the periarchicortical cingulate areas and the posterior part of the subcallosal gyrus ( Stephan-1970, Stephan-1975 ).

Also known as: No other name for this structure has appeared in PubMed.NeuroNames ID : 2302

Species Having or Lacking this Structure

All Names & Sources

Internal Structure

Cells Found There

Genes Expressed There

Locus in Brain Hierarchy


Models Where It Appears

Publications About It

BrainInfo                           Copyright 1991-present                          University of Washington